Deborahmclaren's Weblog

Sustianable Tourism, Buy Local, Rural-Urban Connections

Bikes on Ice? Ice Biking? Tell me your story or send me a link

Posted by deborahmclaren on February 9, 2011

ice biker dude

I want to write an upcoming post on my blog about ice biking… that’s the term for people who like to ride year round, even in the snow and ice. I live in Minnesota where there are plenty of ice bikers. I use to think they were all crazy, but I’m beginning to wonder why our bicycle accident rates are going DOWN while more riders are going up. Let me know what you think, especially if you are an ice biker.

5 Responses to “Bikes on Ice? Ice Biking? Tell me your story or send me a link”

  1. Hi Debi!
    I cycle every day to work, no matter what the weather or road conditons are. And believe me, the winter here in Stockholm has been cold and snowy both this and last year.
    http://hampus.biz/index.php/weblog/127_dagar_kvar_till_vaetternrundan/

    Translated version:
    http://translate.google.com/translate?js=n&prev=_t&hl=sv&ie=UTF-8&layout=2&eotf=1&sl=sv&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fhampus.biz%2Findex.php%2Fweblog%2F127_dagar_kvar_till_vaetternrundan%2F

  2. srcycler said

    Now you are a brave group of cyclist. If it gets below 40 I end up riding solo here in South Florida.

    • You need to visit Minnesota during our beautiful summers! Minneapolis just took over Portland as the most bike-friendly city in the nation. Our Mississippi River bike trails take you all the way to the headwaters where you can stand with one leg over each side of the mighty river! Go bikes!

  3. Reiseideen…

    Bikes on Ice? Ice Biking? Tell me your story or send me a link « Deborahmclaren's Weblog…

Leave a Reply

 
