Deborahmclaren's Weblog

Sustianable Tourism, Buy Local, Rural-Urban Connections

The favorite taste stuck between my teeth!

Posted by deborahmclaren on January 4, 2011

I absolutely HATE getting anything stuck between my teeth. It feels like a giant tree or something wedged in there bothering me until I can get it out. There’s nothing worse. My son has huge gaps between his teeth so he has no idea what I’m talking about. I’m like a dog with fleas, a cow with horse flies, a cat in water. I can’t stand it!

In my obsessive search for all things natural, organic and local I have pondered how one can take care of their teeth and not clear forests to do so. This is what I’ve discovered:

Toothpicks Made in USA by Preserve about $4.50 for a two-pack of 35 picks each
These picks are sustainably harvested, natural birch wood grown in the USA and then sealed in natural, breath-freshening flavors to provide great, long-lasting taste. Packaged in a pocket-sized canister made from 100% recycled plastic. All Natural Flavors include
Mint with Tea Tree with peppermint, spearmint, menthol and tea tree oil.
Cinnamint: Cinnamon, peppermint, menthol, wintergreen and clove.

Preserve toothpicks

Taste-T-Picks Twin Pack of All Natural Gourmet Birchwood Toothpicks are infused with Natural Oil of Peppermint. About $5 will get you 75 fresh & natural peppermint flavored toothpicks in each pocket pack. All natural ingredients: Virgin Birchwood and Natural Peppermint Oil.

Taste-T-Picks

Tea Tree Therapy is a company in New Jersey that sells birchwood tea tree and cinnamon toothpicks. I picked some up recently and like them – they are pungent but only one end is usable for cleaning your teeth. They run about $6.50 per 2 packages (aprox. 100 toothpicks in each package).

Tea Tree Therapy

That’s about all I can find as far as USA made. There are lots of picks made of tea tree oil from Australia. Let me know if you find out more. Seriously. I’m obsessed.

Leave a comment